KAUST Research Conferences: Catalytic Carbon and Hydrogen Management (KRC-CCHM)

​​The future needs of the planet in terms of energy and environment place catalysis at the forefront of many scientific domains. The opportunities for catalysis are quite broad in terms of carbon and hydrogen management. Among the topics, which deserve strong attention, are light hydrocarbon activation and utilization, CO2 activation and utilization, hydrogen generation and utilization, and new developments in these areas of energy and environment. There is obviously a need for a very deep scientific approach in this field of catalysis, whether it is homogeneous, heterogeneous, photo initiated, fundamental or applied etc… Almost no catalytic reaction is fully selective and the resulting impact on energy and environment is huge.

The KAUST Catalysis Center (KCC), which opened early 2011, is based on a multidisciplinary approach of catalysis. It dedicates its research in these broad areas of carbon and hydrogen management inside the main thrusts of energy and environment. After three years of successful operation, it is timely to celebrate our scientific achievements with a symposium dedicated on these two topics.

All members of the KAUST research community as well as external industry partners and Saudi Universities are invited to attend this important event.

List of the speakers:​​

  • Jean-Marie Basset, KCC Director, KAUST

  • Atieh Abu Raqabah, SABIC, Saudi Arabia

  • Lutz Ackermann, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany

  • Reiner Anwander, University of Tübingen, Germany

  • Matthias Beller, Leibniz Institute for Catalysis, University of Rostock, Germany

  • Aditya Bhan, University of Minnesota, USA

  • Vincenzo Busico, Frederico II University, Italy

  • Luigi Cavallo, KAUST

  • Gabriel Centi, University of Messina, Italy

  • Ya-Huei (Cathy) Chin, University of Toronto, Canada

  • Bas de Bruin, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

  • Kazunari Domen, University of Tokyo, Japan

  • Jorg Eppinger, KAUST

  • Valery Fokin, The Scripps Research Institute, USA

  • Christian Freund, Frei Universitat Berlin, Germany

  • Bruce Gates, University of California, Davis, USA

  • Stan Golunski, Cardiff University, UK

  • Robert H. Grubbs, CalTech, USA

  • Christopher Jones, Georgia Tech, USA

  • Nikos Hadjichristidis, KAUST

  • Wolfgang Herrmann, Technische Universität München, Germany

  • Kuo-Wei Huang, KAUST

  • Guo-Xin Jin, Fudan University, China

  • Shu Kobayashi, University of Tokyo, Japan

  • Aiwen Lei, Wuhan University, China

  • Walter Leitner, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

  • Johannes Lercher, Technische Universität München, Germany

  • Can Li, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, China

  • Tobin Marks, Northwestern University , USA

  • Robert Morris, University of Toronto, Canada

  • Helene Olivier-Bourbigou, IFP, Energies Nouvelles, France

  • Takashi Ooi, Nagoya University, Japan

  • L Petrov, King Abdulaziz University, Saudi Arabia

  • Erwin Reisner, University of Cambridge, UK

  • Valentin Rodionov, KAUST

  • Magnus Rueping, Professor, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

  • Joachim Sauer, Humboldt-Universitat zu Berlin, Germany

  • Bert Sels, Professor, Leuven University, Belgium

  • Kazuhiro Takanabe, KAUST

  • Xinchen Wang, Fuzhou University, China

  • Robert M. Waymouth, Stanford University, USA

  • Jackie Y. Ying , Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, Singapore


Event Quick Information

01 Feb, 2015
08:00 AM – 18:00 PM